PDA

View Full Version : Why I'm Voting For George

FORD
10-20-2004, 09:51 AM
Why I'm Voting for George
By Dave Joyce
t r u t h o u t | Letter

Wednesday 20 October 2004

This is going to be a mite long winded, but by the time you get to the bottom, you'll understand, so lean on back, take your shoes off and sit awhile. And ah ... no peeking.

Many have asked where I am in Maine. And while I don't have the GPS co-ordinates handy, I can say a little something about my place in the backwoods. Our town's name is something the local natives once said. Not the guys that came over on those rickety, leaky sailing ships, I mean the ones who answered the doorbell and met the boats. The word, quite frankly, has just too many c's, k's, t's, p's, and w's for one human mouth to even try to muckle on to. And as far as spelling it, as a former systems analyst I know that certain combinations of keystrokes can unlock hidden programs that will wipe your hard drive faster than a skunk can raise his tail and say "Hello," so that ain't gonna happen. But what the dang thing means, well that's another story.

Not too many of the original inhabitants are around anymore, so the current natives aren't sure what the thing really means. Ed down at the corner claims it means "Moose too damn heavy," because for the original folks here, when a hunter killed one, rather than drag it back to camp, they dragged the camp to it. Nowadays, during the one week when Moose hunting is allowed, we currents use backhoes, skidders, and the like (I've heard tell of a chainsaw or two being involved) to bring them out of the backwoods. To me, seeing these sizeable critters on an almost daily basis, the originals had it right.