PDA

View Full Version : If Repubs think they're safe due to their voting decision

Steve Savicki
08-09-2005, 03:00 PM
On August 2nd, we sent a shockwave through the Republican Party. In case you don't know me, I was the Democratic candidate in the special election for Ohio's second congressional district. I am also a veteran of the Iraq War.

In a district that has seen 40 point Democratic losses for 15 years, we came within four points. That was after Tom DeLay and the national Republicans poured in a half a million dollars to shore up my opponent.

I couldn't be prouder of our campaign. The national Republicans promised to "bury" me, but we stood tough and put them in their place. On Thursday the Washington Post asked their spokesman whether they had fulfilled their promise, and the spokesman admitted simply: "we did not." Newt Gingrich himself called it "a wake-up call to Republicans."

There are so many people who made this possible. Never having run for public office before, I was amazed by people's hard work, long hours and dedication to my campaign. I could not have run this race without the grassroots Democrats coming to my aid - in message, in boots on the ground, and in contributions to my campaign.

And there was another team who was working on my behalf. At the most critical point of the campaign, the DCCC sent staff to direct a get out the vote operation unlike anything this district has seen in decades. They helped me turn my campaign into a well-oiled machine.

While I took on my opponent head to head, unbeknownst to me the DCCC was quietly tracking the race, digging up the facts, and feeling out vulnerabilities. They lulled the Republicans into complacency for weeks - then unloaded a massive, devastating ad buy exposing my opponent's ties to the scandal-plagued Ohio Republican Party.

My experience as a candidate taught me more than I can say, but I can tell you two things right now:

This race shows that no Republican is safe, and