PDA

View Full Version : Book smarts or learn as you go?

Big Troubles
03-24-2004, 06:26 PM
I started playing 6 string a few months ago, and basically am self taught. I picked up some pedals along the way. Crybaby, phase shifter, metal t zone, flanger and will eventualy grab a chorus pedal and delay. My question is, can I keep learning with my ears and through practice or will I or should I need to go through the books?
I want to get better than what I am, and am prob rushing myself. But maybe theres some players here that can play real well, without having to go through lessons or books to get there. Any help would be great!

Big Troubles
03-24-2004, 07:49 PM
Where's all the players? c'mon BrownSound. Giver on the help dept.

pete
03-24-2004, 07:56 PM
I learned Mel bay guitar method when i was 9 years old.

From there I learned on my own til I was 17. Just as a progression of continuous playing and writing I learned a basic major scale.

Then my abilities and realisation of chords, and what different chords you can use in a given scale/key really grew.

We all use major and minor chords, but then i realised you could use other chords. I often wonder if I'd have stuck with the books if I would have learned quicker, but at this point, though, I can learn anything I can hear. Including in my head.

So I would say:"Learn your scales" and the notes of your guitar all the way up the neck. And your passion will, if it's real, take you as far as you want to go.

Once you learn the basic rules. You can break the rules without sounding like an idiot.

Glad to hear you're so into it. It gives me something new everyday.
I'm 35 years old.

Big Troubles
03-24-2004, 08:07 PM