PDA

View Full Version : Guitar collections,or,cemetaries?

Macu
01-05-2006, 03:43 PM
Lets forget about a persons "right" to collect guitars,and consider "is it right?"I am not talking about a few guitars,( if they are played),as much as the big collections.People hoarding vintage pieces either for the prestige,or,re-sale.The vintage guitar market got royally screwed by people buying up everything they could as investments.Non-musicians who dont play.Its now impossible to realistically think about owning many guitars.Or,musicians that can afford it,but,cant possibly play all of the guitars for any real length of time.Example:Want a Gibson flyingV?Too bad!,Rudi Schenker has all of them.Not really,but,I saw a picture of his "collection".Its like 60 guitars,or,so.I play guitar for a living,and,as a musician,I cant imagine having rooms full of guitars just sitting there.Like I said,how much can you play 60 guitars.I come accross guitars all the time.Many are gifts.I end up giving ones away,or,trading to friends that might need a better guitar.Many of the best guitars in the world are basically dying in graves.Any player knows an instrument must be played.The more the better.---End of rant--- Macu...

Hardrock69
01-05-2006, 04:43 PM
in October of 1986, I brought an early 70's Gibson SG backstage at an AC/DC concert to see if Angus would be interested in buying one. He prefers a certain style of SG that has a narrower neck at the nut than usual (I think they are 1 1/8" wide at the nut, whereas a normal SG is 1 1/4" wide).

I went into the tuning room to discuss it with his guitar tech.

He looked it over, and said: "Yes..that is the kind he likes alright. But he is not buying any right now...he has got 65 of them out with him right now".