PDA

View Full Version : Anti-Spyware Programs List

Nickdfresh
03-17-2006, 08:47 AM
Here's a list of (mostly) free anti-spyware programs you can download.

http://www.download.com/Spyware-Center/2001-2023_4-0.html?tag=dir

Ad-Aware and Spybot work well, but do have their limitations...

Microsoft GIANT Beta Anti-Spyware here: http://www.microsoft.com/athome/security/spyware/software/default.mspx

Roy Munson
03-17-2006, 10:08 AM
Did you try that MS GIANT yet?

Roy Munson
03-17-2006, 10:36 AM
I guess the Windows thing is called Defender. I just downloaded it to my work computer. The cool thing about it is that it is real-time, meaning it will be running when your browser is open. Hopefully, it will work as advertised.

m_dixon1984
03-17-2006, 11:07 AM
Although I don't normally recommend MS products, and would love to tell everyone just to run a Linux OS instead, I have been using Microsoft AntiSpyware/Defender for 6-8 months on my Windows PC and am highly recommending it. I'm also beta testing the upcoming Windows Vista operating system which comes with MS Defender (AntiSpyware's new name since Beta2 was released over month ago) and it's worked flawlessly on all my test hardware.

Updates seem to occur almost daily which gives me the impression (at least) that additional blocks are implemented on a regular basis. The nightly scans also give the impression that your machine is safe and to this point my MS machine remains untouched by ad-ware or spy-ware.

The only problem I've had with Defender is that it has kicked me out of Call Of Duty 2 when an update pop-up comes up. CoD2 was the only game I was playing at the time but I would assume that I would have been kicked out of anything I was doing. Afterwards, I just disabled the Defender updating feature while I was playing any game.