PDA

View Full Version : High End Stereo Gear For the Rock & Roll Enthusiast

The_KiD
04-15-2006, 02:32 PM
As a hack guitarist, I have found a wealth of good information here in this forum. Playing music and listening to music is a big part of the overall enjoyment. I am curious to how many members here are as into their stereo setup as their guitars.

I am a little more outta hand on the stereo side of the fence as my system cost as much as some cars. (Hopefully this will change when I can play better. I have been eyeing a Les Paul Gold Top)

I have posted a Pic of my Rig with a little explination on what each peice is. Very curious to what everyone else listens to their music collection on. Or am I the only crazy one..

My Collection is around 1500 CDs and about 140GB of MP3's..

Tube Integrated Amp / Cary SLI-80 Signature (All NOS Tubes)
24/192 Upsampling DAC / Electrocompaniet ECD-1
CD-Transport / Rotel RDD-980
Apple Aiport Express (This is run into the DAC via Toslink, Makes MP3's sound great)
Speakers / Sonus Faber Grand Pianos (Handmade in Italy)
Speaker Wire, Interconnects, Power Cords (All Audience Au24)
Ipod 40GB for Traveling

BrownSound1
04-15-2006, 02:51 PM
I like badass stereos, but I've never gotten into the real audiophile aspect of it. The audiophile guys are one of the reasons vintage vacuum tubes are so freakin' expensive. :D

Nitro Express
04-16-2006, 01:16 AM
Both my brother and father were audiofiles. Both unfortunately have passed away and I have my dads McIntosh stuff and some of my brothers stuff. I have great amplifiers but need to get some decent speakers.

I basically blast rock and roll. I'm not sitting in front of it sipping expensive congac listening with my eyes closed trying to make my living room sound like symphany Hall.

The_KiD
04-16-2006, 07:29 AM
Originally posted by Nitro Express