PDA

View Full Version : Opeth

sadaist
08-05-2006, 04:03 PM
I'm new to Opeth. Never heard of them until you guys kept mentioning them in some threads. I popped my cherry with Deliverence (long song). Then added Blackwater Park, Harvest, & Ghost of Perdition. They sound kinda cool (don't really like the death grunt singing), but not a great as they were built up in these threads. I know I only have 4 songs. Which ones are their best? Help me narrow down the downloads.

MERRYKISSMASS2U
08-05-2006, 06:08 PM
I can't stand them because of the vocals. I hope they're ok because I don't want to be disappointed during gigantour.

Soul Reaper
08-06-2006, 08:30 AM
I think they're wunderfal.....one of the better bands around.....

quite a unique death metal band....

I don't mind their death metal growls actually.....

try their acoustic album, Damnation....no death growls in there, to my knowledge anyway....

binnie
08-07-2006, 03:44 AM
The vocals will stop a lot of people getting into them. I am no cookie monster fan, but for bands that know how to use them I can make exceptions.

Sadist, Opeth is a band that grows on you. It's like jazz, you have to listen and get into it, it's not always an instant love like a lot of metal.

I recommned listening to a whole album back to back - their music is packed with depth and feeling. Quite haunting actually......

like I say, not for everyone, but well worth a try...

Last_Child
08-07-2006, 10:38 AM
Opeth Damnation, only record I owned by them.

Sold it today for 100 Norwegian Kroner.

I've listened to i t once or twice. Shit boring.
I admit that they have good songs like To Bid You Farewell. I love that one, but... COOKIE MONSTER stops it all.

doctor roth
08-17-2006, 11:16 PM
Opeth are the best band going around. Their music is all about dynamics. Anyone going to see them live will not be dissapointed.

Wawazat
08-18-2006, 03:54 AM
Originally posted by doctor roth