PDA

View Full Version : Questions you've always wanted answered...

pardo
04-28-2004, 10:12 AM
Okay, here's somethin I could never figure out. You may wanna smoke one first. I'm no scientist, but ...

When molecules are moving fast, they're said to have kinetic energy. When the excited molecules come into contact with any surface, their energy is dispersed in the form of heat. Its called the kinetic theory or something.

So - when I'm walkin outside and it gets windy - how come it feels cold instead of hot?

I find this quite paradoxical!

Jesus Christ
04-28-2004, 02:01 PM
Originally posted by pardo
Okay, here's somethin I could never figure out. You may wanna smoke one first. I'm no scientist, but ...

When molecules are moving fast, they're said to have kinetic energy. When the excited molecules come into contact with any surface, their energy is dispersed in the form of heat. Its called the kinetic theory or something.

So - when I'm walkin outside and it gets windy - how come it feels cold instead of hot?

I find this quite paradoxical!

The wind hath dispersed the heat which is coming from the sun which maketh it seem colder, My son.

Yet if all thy atmospheric conditions were equal, ye would feel warmer in the wind. For an illustration of this, try riding a motorcycle through Arizona in August, and ye will find that the wind is anything but cooling.

Rubnose
04-28-2004, 11:03 PM
Kinetic energy is typically a synthesis of bi polar molecular reintegration of natural harmonic atmospheric or enviornmental lateral energy usage. Or parallel inertia. Whatever.

There is always a time differential between association and polarity which is measured in miliseconds that takes the temperture levels and either raises them or lowers them.