PDA

View Full Version : Dog & Cat food recall:

VHChic4Dave
03-19-2007, 09:44 PM
Anyone need info on the recall? I'm a Registered Vet Tech.. Maybe I can help explain the problem with the food. All these recalls are for CANNED foods. Lots of diff brands containing "wheat gluten" which is a type of protein. The pets affected died from kidney failure. Any high protien amts can cause the kidneys to shut down... it is though that other substance could be invloved. When I get all the info from work
I will post.

If you see your pet become: off balance, decrease water in take. vomiting or general lethargia (seems lazy or tired)it could be signs of a problem.

IF YOU BOUGHT THE FOOD TAKE YOUR PET IN AND HAVE THE DVM CHECK THEM OUT AND GET THEM ON MEDICATION RIGHT AWAY.

GOD BLESS. Jeannette
concerned RVT & pet lover
:angel:

Tiki-Tom
03-20-2007, 02:41 AM
No questions here but I wanna say this much.
This is a very cool gesture on your part.
keep up the good work. Bless you.:)

VHChic4Dave
03-20-2007, 08:02 PM
Tiki-Tom:

Thanks... Just trying to help out. Your very kind to type back.

The treatment is going to be Dialysis to flush out the pets system.
This involves either Sub-Q fluids (under the skin) or IV cath placement
if any signs of kindey problems start.
This is what the Vets have told us. Everyone just stop feeding any canned or pouched wet food. This recall does not include any dry foods. More info later. J

Oh, dry food is better for your pets teeth anyway. :D

Dr. Love
03-20-2007, 08:19 PM
Hm, I fed my cats a soft food can about 2 days before the recall, think I should have a concern?

Guitar Shark
03-20-2007, 08:24 PM
Originally posted by Dr. Love
Hm, I fed my cats a soft food can about 2 days before the recall, think I should have a concern?

Dr. Love's cats eat cans. That's the coolest thing I've ever heard.

PumpedUpMidget
03-20-2007, 08:27 PM
What about the neighborhood bums who scrape by daily by eating Alpo? Do they have to worry?

Dr. Love