PDA

View Full Version : Just out of curiousity...

Big Train
04-22-2007, 11:37 AM
I was thinking about this last night. Our forefathers meant for our Constitution to be a "living, breathing document" meaning it should not be fixed as is but should change over time. I was trying to remember if anything major has changed about it in the last 40 years or so (post civil rights) and I don't think anything has.

My question is: What in the Constitution should be added, changed or removed in your view?

For me, I think the "every child born on american soil is an american" provision (no idea what it's called) should be removed. "Give me your tired, huddled masses" came at a time when our country was empty (of Europeans anyway). Now, as an LA resident, I feel comfortable saying "it's full". The "Anchor Baby" phenom is what is the lynchpin of the immigration debate which causes so many problems for people on both sides of the issue. So why not just get rid of it?

Should the 2nd amendment be modified? You can have a weapon, just need to not keep it on you (say in a rifle range safe for you sport shooters)?

What do you think needs fixing?

FORD
04-22-2007, 10:00 PM
I know the "anchor baby" thing makes it easier for illegal aliens to stay in this country, but if we start amending the constitution to say that certain people born here are NOT citizens, it sets a dangerous precedent. Supposedly there were provisions in "Patriot Act II" to strip US citizenship of those determined to be a "threat" to the "United States", and as in all "Patriot Act" documents, the definitions of the terms were deliberately left as wide open and vague as possible. So yes, it would be quite possible for Chimpy to declare someone a "non-citizen" for purely political reasons, and then attempt to justify it with a "national security" excuse.