PDA

View Full Version : Crank Up The John Phillip Sousa music!!

Hardrock69
05-09-2007, 08:38 AM
Today is the 30th anniversary of the day I joined the United States Army, the finest fighting force on Earth!!!

God Bless America!

I salute the flag!
http://i15.tinypic.com/4trstg0.gif
The Flag
http://i14.tinypic.com/646zp6x.jpg

hideyoursheep
05-09-2007, 12:09 PM
Good gawd! You're an old dog!

Hey Hardrock, you ever get the feeling after being in a while that you might have fucked up?

hideyoursheep
05-09-2007, 03:25 PM
Give us one of your favorite stories to honor the occasion.....

Hardrock69
05-10-2007, 01:05 PM
Anyone with half a brain is going to wonder "what in the hell have I done?" at some point after they joined the service.

I was a truck driver at Ft. Lewis, WA, just south of Tacome (this is why I saw Van Halen blow Black Sabbath off the stage in Seattle in 1978).

One of our regular gigs was to haul ammo, weapons, and supplies to the Yakima Firing Range in South-Central Washington.

Our battalion was in the midst of converting our 2 1/2-ton trucks to new engines with turbos. My truck had yet to be converted, and it was the slowest truck in the battalion.

So....bright and early one morning that summer, I reported to the motor pool, and drove with some other guys to the area where we were to be loaded up.

They were loading a Conex container into our trucks. 1 per truck. These are about 10 feet square, made of steel, with a pair of doors on one end.

Pictures of a conex:

http://www.mobilesciftogo.com/ph_lg_tricons_3.jpg

http://www.army.mil/cmh/books/Vietnam/logistic/images/F36.jpg

And for those of you who do not know what a Deuce-and-a-half truck looks like, here is a photo:

http://www.deltaforce.net/deuce/side.jpg

So anyway, one conex would fit neatly in the back of a truck. They used these large forklifts to lift them up into the truck, as shown here:

http://www.defence.gov.au/news/armynews/editions/1110/images/21newforkliftnov18.jpg