PDA

View Full Version : Bassist's: Pickers vs Fingers

Diamondjimi
05-16-2010, 09:09 PM
Well, where do I start here....
Recently the bassist in my band resigned his post on the verge of my band recording our next album(cd)
Rather than waiting for his replacement to learn the material and record the bass. I decided to take it upon myself to do it. I wrote all the songs so I figured what the fuck...

My setup cuntsists of a borrowed Gibson 5 string Reverse Thunderbird played directly into my Tech 21 PSA-1 preamp which is connected to my Presonus interface for the cuntputer. I then run the Recabinet program VST in Nuendo DAW.
On the PSA-1 I've been diggin the Dug Pinnick preset as well as the SVT preset. Killer tones...

Since I started playing guitar centuries ago, I've always enjoyed "noodling" around on the bass and have always owned one.
I'm decent with my fingers (for picking) and can hold my own if I don't have a pick. However in this situation I'm finding using a pick is much better for the demands of the material at hand. My former bass player is a major Steve Harris fans, so that gives you an idea on his views about using a pick...
I'm fortunate to have hindsite on the licks he played due to the fact that we gigged the material for 8 months and he did lay down "scratch" beds that I can reference plus ad my own bits.

One thing I've noticed with finger players is their contempt of guys who use a pick. I personally don't have an issue with them, providing they aren't hacking and slashing away a la Sid Vicious...

Here's some kick ass bassist's who DO use a pick. (off the top of my head)

Chris Squire (Yes)
Roger Glover (Deep Purple)
Dug Pinnick (Kings X)
Scott Thunes ( Frank Zappa Band)
Mike Gordon (Phish)
Leon Wilkeson (Skynyrd) R.I.P.
Tom Hamilton (Aerosmith)
Bill Wyman (Rolling Stones)
Wolfgang Van Halen :lmao:

Finger players...

Geddy Lee (Rush)
Jaco Pastorius R.I.P.
John Paul Jones (Zeppelin)
Cliff Burton (Metallica) R.I.P.
Rob Trujillo (Metallica)