PDA

View Full Version : midi sequencing for live bands

rocknrolldork
08-01-2011, 04:56 PM
I start playing with a new band next week. They are using some midi sequencing that has been turned into mp3 and played through an ipod instead of getting a keyboard player. the drummer is the only one who uses the click track (which is on the Left while the sequence is on the Right). I'm totally new to using this technology. Does anyone know if there is an online community/forums that trades/shares completed clips?

Thanks in advance!

SunisinuS
08-01-2011, 09:23 PM
Practice Practice Practice just to get to Carneaaaayyygy!

Lol, since it is such a short time I would say get up to speed in rehearsal and then research more after the gig. Ask the people where they got the idea.

Break a leg!

standin
08-02-2011, 07:02 PM
I start playing with a new band next week. They are using some midi sequencing that has been turned into mp3 and played through an ipod instead of getting a keyboard player. the drummer is the only one who uses the click track (which is on the Left while the sequence is on the Right). I'm totally new to using this technology. Does anyone know if there is an online community/forums that trades/shares completed clips?

Thanks in advance!

Yes, by chance I do. I receive a electronic rag called Mix Magazine and a paper rag called Prosound.

I do not know if this link will work for you, but you can give it a try.
http://www.nxtbook.com/nxtbooks/newbay/mix_201107/#/0

I get quite a few trade magazines. I was thinking of using them as a base of articles on The Roth Journals, which is written under the Blaze moniker. I was not sure if there would be an interest. However, I can see there is an interest.
Keep an eye out. I will put a schedule up and write some focused articles. In the mean time:

www.mixonline.com
http://www.prosoundnetwork.com

twonabomber
08-03-2011, 01:36 AM