PDA

View Full Version : Making BIG moves...

Fabulous Shadow
07-30-2004, 12:13 AM
I've decided to leave my job and start my own consulting business.
I have been pondering the idea for a few months but finally made the decision today. I have a freind that works with me and we are doing it together. I already have a few clients that I'm consulting and they assured me they could give me refferences. It's just a big move and big decision but something that has been driving me for sometime now. habe any of you ever just took the bull by the horns and WENT FOR IT? How was your experience? Success? Failure? In between? Tell me your stories about BIG MOVES...

SoCalChelle
07-30-2004, 12:27 AM
Gutsy move. Hope it works out for ya :) Sorry I don't have a story to share....

ZahZoo
07-30-2004, 03:08 PM
I've done some consulting work... both as an independant and for a Fortune 100 company. First step is get a very good attorney with experience in contract law. You will need to have contracts with each client and you've got to protect yourself. Another good move is hire a tax attorney and establish a corporation for your business. This can minimize your personal liability and personal assets.

The tax attorney can help with navigating the tax laws regarding self-employment and as a contractor you may need to withhold your own taxes/social security... do it right from the very start. It's too easy to spend untaxed money and put off paying but much more difficult to come up with a year's worth of taxes in lump sums on the fly.

Another good idea... build up at least a year's worth (3-5 is best) of financial cushion to ride out off periods and business slumps. Stay in good w/ your attorney as well if contract disputes come up... even in big corporate business not everybody plays fair or "right".

Best of luck to you!!

guwapo_rocker
07-30-2004, 03:10 PM
Originally posted by Fabulous Shadow
have any of you ever just took the bull by the horns and WENT FOR IT?