Results 1 to 20 of 20

Thread: Soundcard Problem

  1. #1
    Just Me And My Ganja....
    Crazy Ass Mofo
    Full Bug's Avatar
    Member No
    63
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Last Online
    12-09-2017 @ 06:01 PM
    Location
    The Hydroponics Lab Next Door....
    Age
    48
    Posts
    2,915
    Status
    Offline
    Thanks
    116
    Thanked 199 Times in 121 Posts


    Rep Power
    20

    Soundcard Problem

    Does anyone know if there is a way of fixing a burned out soundcard for the computer without taking it in to get fixed? At least a think its burned out, maybe a program that you can download that fixes the problem? The last time this happened it cost me 60 bucks to get fixed, was just wondering if there was a way around the problem without having to take my computer in to get fixed again, seems like I have to take it in once every couple of months for some sort of problem, the computer costs really seem to add up......
    Hey Jackass! You need to [Register] or log in to view signatures on ROTHARMY.COM!

  2. #2
    Dr. Lulz
    ROTH ARMY SUPREME
    Dr. Love's Avatar
    Member No
    124
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Last Online
    03-11-2016 @ 02:30 AM
    Location
    Dallas/Fort Worth, TX
    Age
    38
    Posts
    7,822
    Status
    Offline
    Thanks
    488
    Thanked 1,441 Times in 995 Posts


    Rep Power
    38
    You're going to have to describe the symptoms of your problem.

    However, if your sound card is "burned out" or the hardware is in some way damaged, there is no program that will fix it.
    Hey Jackass! You need to [Register] or log in to view signatures on ROTHARMY.COM!

  3. #3
    Just Me And My Ganja....
    Crazy Ass Mofo
    Full Bug's Avatar
    Member No
    63
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Last Online
    12-09-2017 @ 06:01 PM
    Location
    The Hydroponics Lab Next Door....
    Age
    48
    Posts
    2,915
    Status
    Offline
    Thanks
    116
    Thanked 199 Times in 121 Posts


    Rep Power
    20
    Windows Media Player is saying that it cannot play the file because there is a problem with the sound device such as a sound card or sound controller, or maybe I dont have a sound device installed on my computer, I also have DivX and it plays videos but with no sound, so I guess the sound card is fucked, was just maybe hoping there was some sort of program I could download off the net to fix the problem, thought it was worth a shot asking if anyone knew of such a program.....
    I was thinking maybe a virus would cause this problem, this is the second time my soundcard has screwed up, but I always run virus scans, weird.....
    Last edited by Full Bug; 02-11-2004 at 10:41 AM.

  4. #4
    Dr. Lulz
    ROTH ARMY SUPREME
    Dr. Love's Avatar
    Member No
    124
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Last Online
    03-11-2016 @ 02:30 AM
    Location
    Dallas/Fort Worth, TX
    Age
    38
    Posts
    7,822
    Status
    Offline
    Thanks
    488
    Thanked 1,441 Times in 995 Posts


    Rep Power
    38
    Can you run any sounds? Have you tried rebooting?

  5. #5
    Just Me And My Ganja....
    Crazy Ass Mofo
    Full Bug's Avatar
    Member No
    63
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Last Online
    12-09-2017 @ 06:01 PM
    Location
    The Hydroponics Lab Next Door....
    Age
    48
    Posts
    2,915
    Status
    Offline
    Thanks
    116
    Thanked 199 Times in 121 Posts


    Rep Power
    20
    Originally posted by Dr. Love
    Can you run any sounds? Have you tried rebooting?
    No sound whatsoever, this problem has been going on over a week.....

  6. #6
    Gimme head till I'm dead
    ROTH ARMY WEBMASTER

    Igosplut's Avatar
    Member No
    45
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Last Online
    06-22-2019 @ 01:49 PM
    Location
    Cape Cod Fuckin MA
    Posts
    2,782
    Status
    Offline
    Thanks
    169
    Thanked 718 Times in 479 Posts


    Rep Power
    10
    Get Norton system works. That has in it, among others a program that walks you thru troubleshooting your hardware (sound card included).

    I have it on mine, and is a great program. Plus the Norton utilitys defrags and scandisks much better than the windows one.

    Like Dr L says, If the hardwares spent, thats not going to fix it (it did tell me that I had a bad stick of memory) But Its well worth the cost for everthing in it.
    Hey Jackass! You need to [Register] or log in to view signatures on ROTHARMY.COM!

  7. #7
    Shit don't stink
    Commando
    High Life Man's Avatar
    Member No
    232
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Last Online
    06-23-2019 @ 11:05 PM
    Location
    Milwaukee, WI
    Age
    43
    Posts
    1,267
    Status
    Offline
    Thanks
    76
    Thanked 98 Times in 71 Posts


    Rep Power
    18
    Is your soundcard part of the motherboard, or is it a seperate device?

    If it's seperate, did you try reseeding it?
    Hey Jackass! You need to [Register] or log in to view signatures on ROTHARMY.COM!

  8. #8
    Just Me And My Ganja....
    Crazy Ass Mofo
    Full Bug's Avatar
    Member No
    63
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Last Online
    12-09-2017 @ 06:01 PM
    Location
    The Hydroponics Lab Next Door....
    Age
    48
    Posts
    2,915
    Status
    Offline
    Thanks
    116
    Thanked 199 Times in 121 Posts


    Rep Power
    20
    Originally posted by Igosplut
    Get Norton system works. That has in it, among others a program that walks you thru troubleshooting your hardware (sound card included).

    I have it on mine, and is a great program. Plus the Norton utilitys defrags and scandisks much better than the windows one.

    Like Dr L says, If the hardwares spent, thats not going to fix it (it did tell me that I had a bad stick of memory) But Its well worth the cost for everthing in it.
    Hey Igo, I looked for this program and found one, but they only mail it to you, is that the one your using and you had it mailed to you? I'm not into getting anything mailed to me through the internet, or is it a site where you could download the program? If so, do you happen to remember the link? Thanx......

  9. #9
    REPENT AND SINS NO MO!
    DIAMOND STATUS
    ELVIS's Avatar
    Member No
    14
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Last Online
    05-04-2015 @ 09:33 AM
    Location
    China
    Posts
    43,942
    Status
    Offline
    Thanks
    2,821
    Thanked 3,191 Times in 2,418 Posts


    Blog Entries
    2
    Rep Power
    90
    Originally posted by Full Bug
    Does anyone know if there is a way of fixing a burned out soundcard for the computer without taking it in to get fixed? At least a think its burned out, maybe a program that you can download that fixes the problem? The last time this happened it cost me 60 bucks to get fixed, was just wondering if there was a way around the problem without having to take my computer in to get fixed again, seems like I have to take it in once every couple of months for some sort of problem, the computer costs really seem to add up......
    If you weren't such a stoner you would have a basic understanding of how windows works by now...
    Hey Jackass! You need to [Register] or log in to view signatures on ROTHARMY.COM!

  10. #10
    Triumph
    Guest
    Your soundcard is a great piece of equipment, for me to poop on!
    Quit fixing it and replace it or i will poop on it once more.
    Try a Soundblaster that is not integrated and the poop will stop.
    Hey Jackass! You need to [Register] or log in to view signatures on ROTHARMY.COM!

  11. #11
    ROTH ARMY FOUNDER
    Old Fuckin' School
    Va Beach VH Fan's Avatar
    Member No
    12
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Last Online
    04-01-2019 @ 09:49 AM
    Location
    Virginia Beach, VA
    Age
    54
    Posts
    17,911
    Status
    Offline
    Thanks
    206
    Thanked 5,510 Times in 2,420 Posts


    Rep Power
    89
    Originally posted by High Life Man
    Is your soundcard part of the motherboard, or is it a seperate device?

    If it's separate, did you try reseeding it?
    That was going to be my first question as well....

    If it's imbedded, the Norton utility probably is your best bet...

    If it's separate, it may be as simple as deleting the Sound Card parameters from your Device Manager, then rebooting to let Windows re-recognize the "new" hardware found...

    That is, assuming you still have the CD for the drivers, etc....
    Hey Jackass! You need to [Register] or log in to view signatures on ROTHARMY.COM!

  12. #12
    King Of Smut
    ROTH ARMY WEBMASTER

    twonabomber's Avatar
    Member No
    28
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Last Online
    Today @ 11:08 AM
    Location
    Cleveland, Ohio
    Age
    51
    Posts
    9,314
    Status
    Online
    Thanks
    123
    Thanked 1,853 Times in 1,203 Posts


    Rep Power
    10
    for $60 you can get another sound card. i've seen basic Creative PCI cards for $35 or less.
    Hey Jackass! You need to [Register] or log in to view signatures on ROTHARMY.COM!

  13. #13
    Gimme head till I'm dead
    ROTH ARMY WEBMASTER

    Igosplut's Avatar
    Member No
    45
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Last Online
    06-22-2019 @ 01:49 PM
    Location
    Cape Cod Fuckin MA
    Posts
    2,782
    Status
    Offline
    Thanks
    169
    Thanked 718 Times in 479 Posts


    Rep Power
    10
    Originally posted by Full Bug
    Hey Igo, I looked for this program and found one, but they only mail it to you, is that the one your using and you had it mailed to you? I'm not into getting anything mailed to me through the internet, or is it a site where you could download the program? If so, do you happen to remember the link? Thanx......
    You running anything older than XP? if you are, I'll send you a burned copy. Pm me......

  14. #14
    DIAMOND STATUS
    Panamark's Avatar
    Member No
    24
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Last Online
    03-01-2014 @ 09:03 AM
    Location
    Fucking, Australia
    Posts
    17,113
    Status
    Offline
    Thanks
    392
    Thanked 815 Times in 559 Posts


    Rep Power
    42
    If the Sound Card is part of the Motherboard, you should be able to disable it either via the BIOS or a Jumper on the Mainboard..

    What makes you say its burned out ?? Have you seen a popped IC on the mainboard or is it just that your programs no longer have sound.

    Did you just add another device ? Maybe you have an IRQ conflict..
    Hey Jackass! You need to [Register] or log in to view signatures on ROTHARMY.COM!

  15. #15
    Just Me And My Ganja....
    Crazy Ass Mofo
    Full Bug's Avatar
    Member No
    63
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Last Online
    12-09-2017 @ 06:01 PM
    Location
    The Hydroponics Lab Next Door....
    Age
    48
    Posts
    2,915
    Status
    Offline
    Thanks
    116
    Thanked 199 Times in 121 Posts


    Rep Power
    20
    I dont know if it is attached or not, I will find out for future reference, but it matters little now, my computer guy is going to fix it for 20 bucks, might be offline for a day or two but at least the damm thing will be working after that......
    Thank you for all the tips and help people...... :bottle:

  16. #16
    DLR Army Mod Emeritus
    Veteran
    Viking's Avatar
    Member No
    78
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Last Online
    04-27-2019 @ 11:46 PM
    Location
    East Central Alabamastan
    Age
    55
    Posts
    1,764
    Status
    Offline
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 12 Times in 5 Posts


    Rep Power
    17

    Exclamation

    FB, take it from the ol' master(bator, OK motherfuckers? Ya happy now? Shaddup. ) If it's on the board, you might be able to flash the BIOS if the chipset isn't fried. Othewrwise:

    1) Go into your device manager, and blow the fucker away.

    2) Get a cold beer.

    3) Reboot. Let the hardware wizard find it, and reinstall it. If it can't find the proper drivers, go to http://www.driverguide.com , and download them.

    4) If that is still causing a problem, check your IRQ settings if you've recently installed some new hardware. (Normally, your sound card will use IRQ5, which is reserved for your LPT2 port, but WinBlows will assign whatever IRQ is available. If there's new hardware involved, it's software may have shanghaied the address under a higher priority.)

    5) You may have blown a PCI slot. It happens. Shut your box down, take the card out and move it to an adjacent slot. Reboot.

    If none of that works, then

    6) Get another beer. Kick the dog in the ass. Pull the card. Have the wife buy a new one at Circuit City on the way home from work. And have her stop for more beer.
    Hey Jackass! You need to [Register] or log in to view signatures on ROTHARMY.COM!

  17. #17
    a.k.a. Flappo The Grate
    Full Member Status

    Little Texan's Avatar
    Member No
    31
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Last Online
    06-02-2016 @ 07:21 AM
    Location
    Laneville, TX
    Age
    42
    Posts
    4,579
    Status
    Offline
    Thanks
    2,479
    Thanked 530 Times in 359 Posts


    Rep Power
    25
    Originally posted by Viking
    Kick the dog in the ass.
    Or in Bug's case, FINGER the dog in the ass.
    Hey Jackass! You need to [Register] or log in to view signatures on ROTHARMY.COM!

  18. #18
    DIAMOND STATUS
    Panamark's Avatar
    Member No
    24
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Last Online
    03-01-2014 @ 09:03 AM
    Location
    Fucking, Australia
    Posts
    17,113
    Status
    Offline
    Thanks
    392
    Thanked 815 Times in 559 Posts


    Rep Power
    42
    Oh yeah, and make sure your speakers are turned on

    $20 to fix it sounds very reasonable. I would pay my customers $20 to stay away from me

  19. #19
    DIAMOND STATUS
    Panamark's Avatar
    Member No
    24
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Last Online
    03-01-2014 @ 09:03 AM
    Location
    Fucking, Australia
    Posts
    17,113
    Status
    Offline
    Thanks
    392
    Thanked 815 Times in 559 Posts


    Rep Power
    42
    Originally posted by Little Texan
    Or in Bug's case, FINGER the dog in the ass.
    hahhaha, Hey Bug, you are meant to use a thermometer, not try and guess the temperature with your finger !

    I assume we are talking about that old photo ? Geez, Bug you'll never live that one down

  20. #20
    DLR Army Mod Emeritus
    Veteran
    Viking's Avatar
    Member No
    78
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Last Online
    04-27-2019 @ 11:46 PM
    Location
    East Central Alabamastan
    Age
    55
    Posts
    1,764
    Status
    Offline
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 12 Times in 5 Posts


    Rep Power
    17
    At least FB isn't using his tongue to check Fido's temp.

    Are you, FB?

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. We Need the Oil, Right? So What's the Problem?
    By DLR'sCock in forum The Front Line
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 02-15-2005, 12:40 PM
  2. Got a Problem?
    By EdwardVanHalen in forum Main VH/DLR Discussion
    Replies: 19
    Last Post: 09-03-2004, 12:14 AM
  3. ok what is your problem
    By reverendsonna in forum Main VH/DLR Discussion
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 03-30-2004, 09:58 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •