Member No
    Last Online
    Today @ 01:43 PM
    Status
    Thanks
    Thanked 2,753 Times in 2,063 Posts

Blog Entries

Your Top 5 Bass Players Of Punk

Been going over this this co-workers (okay, co-worker) after listening to UK Subs on the way to work and while several names floated around there were the notable ones we could come up with although I know I'm missing others that just aren't coming to mind. None of m top 5 were really based upon playing technique as you'd find in jazz or prog bands (this is punk after all!) but more on attitude and originality.

1. The Mighty Mike Watt!

The man who claims to be self-taught from listening only to Blue Oyster Cult records! Exactly how fucking cool is that!? Watt still claims to this day he never intended to play bass but picked it up after D. Boon claimed 6 stings were better than 4. Some of Watt's best playing? 'It's Expected, I'm Gone' from his Minutemen days and 'What Gets Heard' from his fIREHOSE era. I actually met him - sorta. He bumped into me on the way to the stage and nearly knocked me on my ass. He never turned around or apologized. In fact, he didn't even acknowledge me at all. I didn't care, I love the guy.

2. Dee Dee Ramone

"The righteous asshole of all punk bass players" Dee Dee was truly an original. Watch ANY performance of his and sit there and wonder how he held his bass lines so tight while jumping around and looking so lost (no, it wasn't the heroin). I still argue that most punk bass players (or self-professed ones like that shithead in Green Day) steal, have stolen and will continue steal from Dee Dee's technique. His whole "1,2,3,4" count off to every Ramones song was his trademark, his bass lines, forever written in punk history. Dee Dee's best playing? Like ANYTHING HE EVER DID!

3. Klaus Fluoride (Dead Kennedys)