PDA

View Full Version : Do you support a PRINCIPLE or a PERSON?

academic punk
01-19-2005, 10:56 PM
I'm an NYC resident, so I have to admit, I JUST DON'T GET IT: what is the love affair that so many americans have towards w?

Do you support what the best intentions of the Republican Party, or - to me - it's just follow the leader, even if there have been some obvious, glaring prolems and discrepancies with the PERSON?

I honestly don't recall during Clinton's years the blind devotion that W. receives and enjoys. Many Democrats - including joe Lieberman and Al Gore - took Clinton to task during his impeachment process.

It's pretty amazing the unity that W brings on in his own ranks.
(and the dissonance he brings everyone else)

FORD
01-20-2005, 12:24 AM
I don't see how the question of principle vs person applies to Junior, because as a person, he's a complete piece of shit, and he has no principles whatsoever.

Republicans who voted for the Chimp out of party loyalty are only deluding themselves. Junior doesn't adhere to ONE principle of traditional conservatism.

Big Train
01-20-2005, 12:58 AM
I'm not sure exactly what's being fished for here.

I voted for him because he was clearly the better choice of the two candidates. If the Dems put up a better candidate, one who wasn't going to run on "i'm NOT GW", then perhaps more votes would have happened for him.

As far as principles go, we vote according to our own ideals and priorities, as you do. Do I think GW is ideal? No, but I dont think that of ANY politician. He was a lot closer to where I was philosphically and in terms of how I interpret events and where we need to go.

As an aside, I'm curious why you bring up that your from NYC...

academic punk
01-20-2005, 03:05 PM
that's the thing though - for many people, "I'm not W" was sufficient reason to vote for him!