PDA

View Full Version : how do you gain speed in playing

Redballjets88
08-28-2005, 12:09 PM
i have been playing bass for like 6 months now and lately i have hit a wall in what to do. like im good at everything i have tried that is just begginer stuff. im alright with slap and pop and im good with a pick and fingers but now im trying to get my speed going...whats a good way to start blazing away?

Matt White
08-28-2005, 12:22 PM
Originally posted by Redballjets88
i have been playing bass for like 6 months now and lately i have hit a wall in what to do. like im good at everything i have tried that is just begginer stuff. im alright with slap and pop and im good with a pick and fingers but now im trying to get my speed going...whats a good way to start blazing away?

The only way to gain speed is thru repetition....play all the time...

You'll get more comfortable moving around the bass...

Try playing exercises with a metronome....slowly increasing your speed every day...

You'll be blazin' away in no time.....

Redballjets88
08-28-2005, 12:24 PM
yeah thats what i expected to hear especially since there really isnt any other good way other than practice

Brett
08-28-2005, 12:57 PM
Build up strength in your fingers, make sure you use ALL of them. A lot of players choose to ignore they have a pinky, and if you truly want to develop speed and accuracy, you need to be adept and comfortable using your pinky. A lot of players aren't.

nosuchluck
08-28-2005, 12:59 PM
if you want to shred on bass, try picking with 3 fingers - index, middle and ring. the important thing is to get the notes to sound 'even' with all three fingers.

billy sheehan uses three fingers to pick.

Matt White
08-28-2005, 07:41 PM
Stick to constructive comments and you'll be fine.

Building forearm strength & strength in your hands will help facilitate faster playing..and make you less prone to fatigue....

As with all exercise, stop when you feel pain...

Don Corleone
08-29-2005, 03:15 AM