PDA

View Full Version : Bought my first Strat!

The_KiD
03-09-2006, 10:16 AM
Well, I will be the first to say that I am a HACK guitarist. I own a Taylor Acoustic and actually owned a PRS for a short time I just did not gel with that guitar. I just had the opportunity to sell it and make some coin so I did.

Going to multiple stores and playing around, the Strat just feels like a better fit for me. I just ordered a Tobacco Sunburst Strat with the Rosewood Fretboard.. It should be here early next week. Any input on setting it up initially?

Any input is greatly appreciated..

KiD

ELVIS
03-09-2006, 01:46 PM
Not a mexi-strat is it ??

sagebrush
03-09-2006, 02:31 PM
Good for you that you found a guitar that fits you ! Is it a mex , jap , or usa strat ? I have a S.R.V. strat and i dropped the acton and put new pickups in it for better sound . If you want to change pickups a hot rail is a good starter pickup . I also flattened the back of the neck because the frender C shape neck fells to thick to me but its all up to you what you do to it make it fit you .

The_KiD
03-09-2006, 02:41 PM
Sagebrush and Elvis,

Thanks for the attention.. Yes, it is a Standard Strat Made in Mexico. I have really got to focus on playing better before I sink the money into a better axe... I played around with both the american made and the mexican ones. I really could not tell that big of a difference.

However, I did get to play around with the new Eric Johnson Edition Strat and that thing was cool...

KiD

sagebrush
03-09-2006, 11:59 PM