PDA

View Full Version : Question Regarding Windows Media Player

ALMOSTsaved
01-04-2007, 11:25 AM
Lately my Windows Media Player has been locking up on me. I have the updated 11 version. However, I was hoping to maybe uninstall the program and then re-install. I'm a novice at shit like this so I was wondering, once I go to the site to download Windows Media Player and it asks to "save"or to "run", which is the best option? If the best option is to save, where do I save? Desktop? My Music?

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Hardrock69
01-04-2007, 11:58 AM
Desktop.

Then uninstall existing WMP.

Then reinstall.

ALMOSTsaved
01-04-2007, 12:03 PM
Cool! Will do! Thank you!

Last_Child
01-04-2007, 01:16 PM
or..

Install iTunes 7.0

ALMOSTsaved
01-04-2007, 01:19 PM
Is I-Tunes free? Does it rip my audio CDs to MP3 as well?

Last_Child
01-04-2007, 03:35 PM
It's free.

it rips your Cd's to mpeg4, not mpeg3 (Mp3). Fuck knows what the difference is.
Anyway, I think that iTunes i superior to WMP.

m_dixon1984
01-04-2007, 03:49 PM
Careful...not all portable MP3 players are mpeg4 compatible, most Sony's for example.

Just a heads up to do some research before changing MP3s to MPeg4s.

M

Hardrock69
01-04-2007, 03:57 PM
Not sure. Type that question into Google.

Google knows all, Sees all

Google be thy name.

:cool:

ALMOSTsaved
01-04-2007, 04:01 PM
Ha! Well, most of my players are Sony (including my car stereo), so I'd probably be better off not using MP4 at this time. I'll still do a little google research. Thanks for the tips, all!

FORD
01-05-2007, 01:55 AM
Alternatively, you can always give up on the bloated later versions of WMP altogether and install Media Player Classic (http://www.afterdawn.com/software/video_software/video_players/media_player_classic.cfm).