PDA

View Full Version : Mods to a 5150?

VAiN
11-04-2007, 12:28 PM
I have a 5150 half-stack and was wondering if there are any mods that I could do it myself... I have no experience with building amps, but i'm pretty handy with tools and whatnot... any info is appreciated. Thanks!

Eddie's Booze
11-04-2007, 01:17 PM
Originally posted by VAiN
I have a 5150 half-stack and was wondering if there are any mods that I could do it myself... I have no experience with building amps, but i'm pretty handy with tools and whatnot... any info is appreciated. Thanks!

Nitro Express knows about that stuff.

:)

cdwillis
11-04-2007, 06:30 PM
What exactly do you want to modify about the amp?

I used to have a site bookmarked that did mods to lots of different amps, 5150 included. One of the mods was a bias mod and they also redid the tolex to snakeskin on the head.

VAiN
11-04-2007, 09:27 PM
Originally posted by cdwillis
What exactly do you want to modify about the amp?

Not sure, really.. just curious to know how tune-able these amps are... if there's anything that I can do to it that's different then a stock sounding 5150...

VAiN
11-04-2007, 09:28 PM
Originally posted by Eddie's Booze
Nitro Express knows about that stuff.

:)

Thanks! I'll contact him and see what he thinks...

cdwillis
11-04-2007, 09:42 PM
I found that old site, never dealt with them before but here it is:

http://www.fjamods.com/5150.html

Nitro Express
11-05-2007, 04:00 AM

The only mod a 5150 head needs in my book is to have a wide sweep adjustable bias pot added. 5150's tend to sound cold and harsh because Peavey underbiases their amps to make the power tubes last longer and to make it so the average Joe can replace the power tubes himself.

The 5150 is a modern circuit board type amp with a faily compllicated circuit. Not the best amp for a first time mod and for what it would cost you in tools, it's would be better to ship the amp off to a reputable mod shop.

Nitro Express
11-05-2007, 04:02 AM