PDA

View Full Version : Is 80's Hard Rock Cool Again or What??

Firebrand
02-18-2009, 10:56 PM
First off, damn, where did this site go for like, what, a year?? Missed y'all, glad it's back.:happy0158:

Man oh man, what a time to be a Halenite AGAIN! The tour rocked, a whole new generation is turned on to the REAL Van Halen, and it sounds like we might actually get new music from the boys. Turn the clock back 24 months...would any of us have believed any of this would have really taken place?:usfl:

I am a high school teacher, and it is amazing to me how much of the rock I grew up with dominates what the kids today listen to. Not to dis the new breed, but really, will anyone be listening to Nickelback 30 years from now? Of course if you had asked me the same question about Ted Nugent, Black Sabbath, Aerosmith, Kiss, Judas Priest, Eagles, Boston, Heart, Pink Floyd, Halen, and Lord knows who else that is still just about as popular as they were in 1980 I would have said the same thing, so who knows?

One of the bands that I still can't get over in reference to their current popularity is Journey. I admit the new CD is good, and Arnel Pineda can sing his butt off, but they are EVERYWHERE it seems.

I guess the 80's really are back. Does that mean 10 years from now grunge will be back too?

Damn, I hope not. :devils:

Anyway, looking forward to hearing more from the REAL Van Halen and seeing what they can come up with...and glad to be back amongst all y'all (that's the plural of y'all, for the non-Southerners here).

Terry
02-18-2009, 11:01 PM
Well, I think the best of what the 1980s had to offer in terms of rock never became uncool, as it were.