PDA

View Full Version : Questions For Long-time Roth Fans...

OrangeSkies
09-10-2010, 12:50 AM
Hi guys I'm a newbie and will do my post in the intro thread shortly. But I had some questions for the long-time people on the forum.

Some background before asking my questions. Im a huge Roth era fan love most of his work with VH. Although being in the obvious minority, will say that 1984 is the weakest Roth album imo. Love Eat Em and Smile, but everything afterward is hit or miss.

Here's my questions but be warned they have to do with Sammy Hagar...

1. Granted, most of Sammy's solo work is unsatisfactory but have any of you of guys heard his work with Montrose -

http://music.myspace.com/index.cfm?fuseaction=music.artistalbums&artistid=5842&albumid=12840998

2. Did you know Ted Templeman produced Montrose's albums with Sammy? And he was picked by the band to produce VH1 with Dave being the exception, because the rest of VH were huge Montrose fans.

3. Were you aware that Eddie was the main guy responsible for the softrock/Journeyish musical direction for the first two Hagar albums? And that Sammy only worked with the music given to him by Eddie. This doesnt excuse him for doing it given he could have been like Roth and rejected Eddie's music. But Sammy does get placed with too much of the blame for the soft music.

4. Beyond the singles released, have any of you guys listened to FUCK and Balance front to back? Have you heard songs like Judgement Day -http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=D5sfJBw-WRE

or The Seventh Seal - http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vNFgs168BHI

And would you admit irregardless of hating Sammy that those songs and albums do rock?

5. What is wrong with liking both eras of VH? Roth era has obviously more quality music. But the Sammy era does have a decent amount of gems as well.