PDA

View Full Version : Alex Van Halen's drums on ADKOT

Mushroom
02-06-2012, 10:57 PM
So what do you think? DRUMmers, what do you notice? I'm a guitar player, not a drummer. First I noted Alex plays a lot of double bass passages. This is the hardest rocking VH record, it's epic and I love it!!

Rikk
02-06-2012, 11:56 PM
Alex is playing core Alex style playing. I'm a drummer (not as good as Alex by any measure...but I know what to listen to). His playing is amazing. CHINA TOWN and other songs just show how little the man has lost. He sounds EXACTLY like the Alex of old. It's like he and Eddie woke up from a deep sleep.

Where the hell was this kind of playing for all those years of Sammy Hagar albums?

SNIPER
02-07-2012, 12:22 AM
Alex has the quality I expect out of drummers I jam with. He has set the standards to me on how a drummer should play. There is something to his playing that just has a fullness to it that you can't really explain but you know it's there. Even when I was 12 I knew Alex had his own thing like Eddie and thats just part of what makes them the best band in the world.

Panamark
02-07-2012, 07:20 AM
Thoughout their entire career, Al never faltered.
(Maybe with wives, never with drums !)
Probably the most consistent, reliable and professional
out of the lot of them. I dont think he ever dropped the ball.

When we heard about this new album, I knew Al would deliver,
he always does. Wasnt so sure about the others, thankfull all
involved excelled.

I still think Al is a as good a drummer as the late John Bonham.

Zing!
02-07-2012, 07:44 AM
From what I've heard - I'm amazed, and deliriously happy at Al's sound. Very reminiscent of his 6-pack years - I'm not a drummer, but I would wager this has to do with his stripped-down, bare bones set he's using. A conscience effort to do more with less - and boy does he ever! Right up there with Bonzo in my opinion as one of the greatest rock drummers ever.

sambo
02-07-2012, 07:58 AM