PDA

View Full Version : Another old interview

Chong Li
07-06-2004, 05:25 PM
During the late '70s and early '80s, David Lee Roth was the archetypal hard-rock star -- the blueprint by which all other hair farmers were designed. With his high-flying karate kicks, skintight spandex, lion's-mane hair and banshee wail, Roth's persona offered yowling yin to Eddie Van Halen's yang. And though the mainstream dismissed him years ago as a clownish bozo, Roth has never viewed himself as anything other than old-school entertainment.
"I'm like P.T. Barnum in some senses -- somewhere between Groucho Marx and Kurosawa is what I do for a living," he laughs, phoning from the "Mojo Dojo," Rothspeak for his home in Pasadena, California. "They asked me to go on that show: How I Destroyed My Life Behind the Scenes, or whatever it is. I offered them my story; they said, 'You have no front scene. Your entire life, everything that has ever been interesting, has been behind the scenes.'"