PDA

View Full Version : Roth better with VH or Vai?

TongueNGroove
07-16-2004, 12:37 AM
I am sure this has been discussed before, but I am a newb here and I want to hear new opinions.

Was Roth more at home with VH or when he had Vai?

IMO, Roth definitely found his niche when he hired on Vai and Sheehan to create those phenomenal albums (Eat 'Em and Smile and Skyscraper). I think those albums FAR outweigh anything he ever did with VH. Don't get me wrong I love Panama/Hot For Teacher/etc.., but I think he was at his coolest when he had Vai. Their personality’s just seemed to fit better. Maybe it was the videos mixed in with the music, but there was just something about that DLR era that struck a chord with me.

You all shouldn't be whining about how DLR needs to get back with VH, you should be whining about how he needs to get back with Vai and Sheehan!

MERRYKISSMASS2U
07-16-2004, 12:39 AM
dave w/ Vh is better i believe. 1984 was very good, just a bit too commercial.. i still rock out to Jump

Snoo
07-16-2004, 12:41 AM
This question troubles me highly. Not because I think one or the other far outweighs each other...but because Dave is only remembered with Eddie and Vai. If not for the tragic case of Becker coming down with Lou Gehrig's disease...he could've brought Dave up to the level he was at with Ed and Vai, and maybe higher.

EddieFan4Ever
07-16-2004, 12:43 AM
To me....Dave with VH all the way. I love the first 2 solo cds....great stuff. But it was VH Junior to me in alot of ways too. All great stuff...but the real deal is VH.

MERRYKISSMASS2U
07-16-2004, 12:44 AM
all 59 classic van halen tracks kick ass, whereas some Dave songs kind of stink, like "Stand Up"! what a great performer: hundreds of songs and one is not so good! never deny the faith

rockvanhalen66
07-16-2004, 01:11 AM
dlr with vh.

Bill Lumbergh
07-16-2004, 01:18 AM